February 1st, 2018


Hi there! My name is Isla Rose and I am a blonde shepherd/ greyhound mix from Houston, Texas. My foster mom rescued me from a shelter last February when I was 7 months old and brought my dog-momma with me too. My dog-mom was adopted last spring and my human mom decided to keep me for a full year of puppy training so I would be a well-mannered and adoptable dog. When I came to Oregon, I sure had a lot to learn as I was 1 of 11 pups but I’ve been quick to catch on and love the positive rewards of training. My mom says I have grown up to be quite the exceptional adolescent girl (I’m 18 months old now!) so I am excited for my turn to find my forever home. Let me tell you a little about myself… I’m about 45 pounds with beautiful shepherd eyes and a golden coat with a body shape of a greyhound. My mom thinks I am a really smart and sweet-natured girl who loves other dogs, does well with cats after I meet them and enjoys being around all people except for little ones who are loud and have yet to learn good doggie etiquette – older kids are just fine with me. I can be shy at first, but once I know someone has my best interests at heart, I quickly warm up and love to get close and cuddle. I am super fast when I run and always get lots of attention at the dog park. I enjoy walks, hiking and running with my mom for exercise – although long walks together are my favorite because I am part hound and love to sniff my way around the neighborhood. I also love to relax and cuddle with my mom after getting some exercise every day. We sleep together at night but I am also a good sleeper on my own memory foam bed. (Can you tell I’m a bit spoiled?!) I am still learning recall skills and have nearly mastered all other basic commands. My mom says my new family needs a fully fenced backyard for me so I thought I should mention that too. I have outgrown my chewing phase (although I do love my own toys and bones!) and am a pro with outside potty habits. It would be awesome to have a fellow dog mate and I am also a good solo dog. I do have a midday walker when my mom goes to work and am delighted when I get to go to doggie day care to play. I’m social, silly, adaptable and honestly just want to be loved. If you think we might be a good match, please call or email my mom so we can make a date to meet. Weekends and Tuesdays are best for us! My human is Andrea and she can be reached at  503-348-6216  or  drearun@hotmail.com

  • Pixie social icons

    twitter facebook instagram

    510 N.E. MLK Blvd.
    Portland, OR 97232

    Phone: (503) 542-3432
    Fax: (503) 542-3437

    Tuesday-Friday 11:00 - 6:00
    Saturday 11:00 to 4:00